A Timely Journey: Home Care to Hospice

June 20, 2018 11 am Pacific / 12 pm Mountain / 1 pm Central / 2 pm Eastern
Autumn Zehren, DNP, RN, PHNClinical and Operations Officer, Fairview and HealthEast Home Care and Hospice
Micki Ranallo Schaefer, MSW, LGSWDirector, Hospice & Palliative Care, HealthEast Care System

HealthEast Health System

HealthEast Hospice had over 50% of their patients pass away within 7 days of admission to their hospice program and an average length of stay well below the state and national benchmarks. The number of referrals from their home care were also lower than what they expected.

Join guest lecturers Autumn Zehren and Micki Ranallo Schaefer as they describe how they used the Lean methodology to identify the root causes and process improvements that helped turn their situation around.

Learning Outcomes/Objectives

  • Describe key tactics needed to partner daily to achieve more timely identification of hospice referrals.
  • Identify proactive triggers to identifying hospice patients earlier in home care.
  • Identify standard work for implementing hospice and home care joint visits.
  • Describe the importance of patient, family and staff satisfaction in earlier referrals to hospice.

Registration is free of charge and open to everyone.